The Lady with the Dark Hair

We had some much-needed rain here in NWMO, and it was the PERFECT weather to get caught up on some reading. I was thrilled to have Erin Bartel’s The Lady with the Dark Hair on the top of my TBR. The twisty mystery of a dual timeline is just what I needed for a rainy-day read. What’s your favorite kind of book to read on a cloudy day?

Thank you to Revell Fiction for my copy of this book. It is a beautifully written story that captivated me from the very beginning!


More About the Book:

A charismatic man with a legacy that long outlives him

A forgotten woman whose fate is forever tied to his

And the family whose history is still being written


Toulouse, France–1879

Catalan orphan-turned-fugitive Viviana Torrens has found sanctuary serving in the home of an aging artist in Southern France. It is in his studio that she meets Francisco Vella, a Gibraltarian merchant who sells artists’ pigments. When her past catches up to her, she is compelled to pose as Vella’s sister and join him on his travels or be deported back to Spain to stand trial. Along the way she will discover that the many parts she has been playing in order to hide her identity have far-reaching implications she never could have foreseen.

East Lansing, Michigan–Present Day

Esther Markstrom and her artist mother have always been proud of their ancestor, painter Francisco Vella. They even run a small museum and gallery dedicated to raising awareness of his scandalously underappreciated work. But when Esther reconnects with her former art history professor, she finds her once-solid family history on shaky ground as questions arise about Vella’s greatest work–a portrait entitled The Lady with the Dark Hair.


This dual-timeline story from award-winning author Erin Bartels takes you on a captivating journey across time and continents, where past and present converge in a relentless search for truth, identity, and the freedom to follow one’s dreams.


My Review:

The Lady with the Dark Hair is an addicting dual-timeline story by Erin Bartels. This is my first book by this author, and I was blown away by the emotional and historical depth of this story! I LOVED it. She will be an author on my “to-read” list from now on!

I love dual timelines because I love being a detective and finding all the ways the stories are intertwined from past to present. The Lady with the Dark Hair is such a unique story that I was drawn immediately to both timelines and fully invested in knowing the truth. I was captivated by the striving of Vivienne and Esther to make their way in the world as women with a passion for art. Over one hundred years stood between them, and yet they had so much in common. It is impossible to read this story without being inspired to reach for that impossible thing in your life. 

The Lady with the Dark Hair deals with heavy, emotional topics and yet never extinguishes hope. It’s a beautiful read. An inspiring read. One that will open your eyes to the moments all around you.

I highly recommend putting The Lady with the Dark Hair at the top of your TBR if you’re looking for a more serious, yet inspiring read. 

I was given a copy of this book by the publisher with no expectations of a positive review. All opinions are my own.

I hope you get a chance to snuggle up with a great book this week.

Happy reading and God bless,

Leave a comment