Book Review: Serving Up Love

Do you enjoy novellas? I admit I hadn’t read many until the last year or so when several of my favorite authors released collections of novellas together. They are significantly shorter than a full length novel, often around 10 or so chapters. A part of me always craves for more story when I finish reading a novella, but one thing I absolutely adore is the fast pace of such short stories. The authors have such limited time (I don’t envy them that.) to create a full story that there is little time for anything but action. It can be very satisfying to read a novella, even if you still want more by the end!

Keep reading for all the details of each novella in Serving Up Love and my full review below.

From the Back Cover

On the Menu for These Ladies?
Adventure, Independence, and a Big Serving of Romance!

A storied part of American history, Harvey Houses offered women a unique chance to gain independence and see amazing parts of this great country. Celebrated historical romance writers Tracie Peterson, Karen Witemeyer, Regina Jennings, and Jen Turano offer four fun, romantic tales of Harvey girls whose western adventures lead to love.

Tracie Peterson – A Flood of Love

Returning home to New Mexico for the first time in years to fill in at the Harvey House, Gretchen Gottsacker is sure the past is behind her. But nothing can be that simple. When the man she loved long ago steps back into her life–with a daughter, no less–will she ever be the same?

Karen Witemeyer – More Than a Pretty Face

Rosalind Kemp becomes a Harvey Girl, clinging to the promise of one day transferring even farther west, someplace her youthful indiscretion won’t catch up to her. But the past is hard to escape, and when the worst occurs, will anyone stand up for her?

Regina Jennings – Intrigue a la Mode

When Willow Kentworth is warned that strange things are happening in the railyard after dark, she never intends to get involved. That is, until a handsome new employee at the Harvey House–who has secrets of his own–needs her assistance.

Jen Turano – A Grand Encounter

After her fiancé abandons her, Miss Myrtle Schermerhorn flees New York’s pity for a position at the El Tovar Hotel on the rim of the Grand Canyon. She’s determined to hold fast to her life of independence–but a rugged, frequent guest of the hotel makes that vow difficult to uphold.

Get your copy here.

My Thoughts

Serving Up Love is a collection of four novellas about women who worked in the Harvey Houses that served customers and workers of the railroads out west. Each of the novellas is a stand-alone story and set in a different location and in different years. 

For this historical fiction superfan, this series of novellas was perfection. I can honestly say I couldn’t pick a favorite. Each story was entirely different: some having danger, others mystery and plenty of romance! 

In Tracie Peterson’s, A Flood of Love, I loved the unique history of the setting, especially the swimming horses. And I loved the heartbreaking history between Gretchen and Dirk as well as the hilarious antics of Katiann. What a doll! Gretchen had such an inspiring spirit of forgiveness, and Dirk’s persistence melted more than Gretchen’s heart!

I have been looking forward to reading More Than a Pretty Face by Karen Witemeyer since meeting Rosalind Kemp in More Than Words Can Say. Rosalind is haunted by regret and living in fear that her past mistakes will be revealed. Although she takes great pains not to be noticed, Caleb Durrington see her for the precious jewel she really is. I adored how Caleb loved her knowing she had untold secrets. And his unique wooing skills are adorable, especially to this nerdy girl!

I knew Intrigue a la Mode by Regina Jennings would be full of laugh out loud moments (careful not to wake your sleeping baby or disturb your co-workers), and I was correct. Despite the mystery and danger surrounding the Harvey House in Emporia, Kansas, there were plenty of light-hearted moments between Willow and Graham. I loved how Graham’s swagger was tempered by his gentleman-like qualities and by Willow’s no-nonsense attitude. They make quite the team (and the couple) as they search for potential smugglers.  

I must admit this is my first time reading Jen Turano. I have her books on my TBR stack, but I haven’t had a chance to read them yet. But I’ll be catching up on the rest of her books soon because I absolutely loved A Grand Encounter! Jack is quite fetching (hehe), and I love the independence and outspoken nature of Myrtle. Plus, they are both book nerds, so we were all meant to be friends. Although their courtship might have been a bit awkward at times, and I might have laughed at Jack’s expense a few times, I enjoyed every minute of their story.

If you are a lover of Christian historical fiction, do not miss this collection of novellas. It is an interesting part of history, and each book gives you a unique perspective. Enjoy!

I was given a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own.                                                                                                  

Happy reading and God Bless!

–Kristina                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                           

One thought on “Book Review: Serving Up Love

Leave a comment